7 Pop Songs That Could Be Played On Christian Radio

When I was living in Senegal, Africa a teammate and I used to listen to mainstream songs and find ones that could be worship music. [Celine Dion's CDs are a great place to start.] There were other songs that I took and would transform the lyrics a bit and make into a really funny Christian parody. I mean really, what would you do with your time during power outages and long drives across uninhabited land?

K-Love, Way-FM, J103… you’re welcome for these song suggestions. A little variety never hurt anybody. {Let’s be honest, Christian radio desperately needs variety.} So, let’s get on to the top seven pop songs that could be played on Christian Radio:

1. “Safe And Sound” by Capital Cities

And every person on www.beardedgospelmen.net said, "AMEN!"

And every person on http://www.beardedgospelmen.net said, “AMEN!”

“I could show you love;

In a tidal wave of mystery;

You’ll still be standing next to me.”

love, Jesus

2. “What About Now” by Westlife

They kind of look like the Pastors at Calvary Chapel Chattanooga. Pastor Erik did you also do a stint as a Westlifer!? (second dude from the left)

They kind of look like the Pastors at Calvary Chapel Chattanooga. Pastor Erik did you also do a stint as a Westlifer!? (second dude from the left)

I mean, let’s be honest, this sounds like the perfect altar call song. I Have Decided is out, What About Now is in! Am I right Southern Baptist preachers? WAHOO SBC!

“This broken heart can still survive 

with a touch of Your grace

Shadows fade into the light

‘I am by your side where love will find you.’”

Love, God

3. “Wake Me Up” by Avicii

This is what I imagine the services at Hillsong to be like...

This is what I imagine the services at Hillsong to be like…

I think I first heard this at Awaken Ministries, or was it at Adrenaline? Or was it at Extreme, Velocity, Ignite, the Edge, the Ramp, Fire, Courageous, Passion, Echo, Reverb, Anointed, Drive, Elevate, or Radiate??

“All this time I was finding myself, I didn’t know I was lost.”

Prodigal son…  so sweet.

4. “Don’t You Worry Child” by Swedish House Mafia

Wow! They so look like they could be the husbands to the Point of Grace girls. Match made innnn... HEAVEN! ;)

Wow! They so look like they could be the husbands to the Point of Grace girls. Match made innnn… HEAVEN! ;)

Seriously, Way-FM pick this up. “Heaven’s got a plan for you,” sounds like the first point to the KGP. Talking about a Holy Spirit rave: I’ll bring the glow sticks. No need for drugs. #moshforjesus

“There was a time

I used to look into my father’s eyes.

In a happy home

I was a king, I had a golden throne.” – Jesus talking about Heaven

“Those days are gone,

Now the memory’s on the wall.

I hear the songs

From the places where I was born.” – Jesus as an adult

“Upon a hill across a blue lake,

That’s where I had my first heartbreak.

I still remember how it all changed.”- Jesus at Calvary

5. “A Thousand Years” by Christina Perri

Oh, she would so fit in at Mars Hill church. Don't you think Pastor Mark?!

Oh, she would so fit in at Mars Hill church. Don’t you think Pastor Mark?!

This is some Jesus Calling material. Sisters, you know what I’m talking about!

“I have died everyday waiting for you

Darling, don’t be afraid I have loved you

For a thousand years

I’ll love you for a thousand more

Time stands still

Beauty in all she is

I will be brave

I will not let anything take away

What’s standing in front of me.” -Jesus

6. “When I Look At You” by Miley Cyrus

mileycyrus

…because we’ve all been there. Pit of despair, where’s my chocolate? This song really does have some great truth to it! I love it.

“When I look at You

I see forgiveness

I see the truth

You love me for who I am

Like the stars hold the moon

Right there where they belong

And I know I’m not alone”

7. “I Will Wait” by Mumford & Sons

Can you imagine worship at Awaken Church with M&S? Out of control.

Can you imagine worship at Awaken Church with M&S? Out of control.

I’m a huge M&S fan. Shamefully, my mom has seen them in concert more times than I have [she's cooler]. But this song sounds like a psalm. Psalm 27:14 to be exact.

“So tame my flesh

And fix my eyes

A tethered mind freed from the lies

And I’ll kneel down, 

Wait for now

I’ll kneel down,

Know my ground

Raise my hands

Paint my spirit gold

And bow my head

Keep my heart slow

‘Cause I will wait, I will wait for you

So that’s my list of pop songs that could be played on Christian radio.

What are some songs that’d you would add to this list?

3 comments

Leave a Reply

